Personal Injury Attorney near me

Why do people choose us?

Our success rate is over 98% and we have successfully obtained over $30 million in verdicts and settlements over the past three years.

Get the settlement you deserve.

OUR RESULTS

"A huge source of comfort, I knew I was at the right place" - Lisa T.

$30,000,000
recovered in
the last 3 years

Get A Free Consultation

Warm, friendly, and on it!"
- Darlyn B.

I knew I was at the right place"
- Lisa T.

They have been a life saver."
- Jasmine H.

WE DEFINE SUCCESS THROUGH
OUR CLIENTS' SATISFACTION

"A huge source of comfort

"Helpful and understanding

"This law firm is amazing

Injured? Need help?

"A huge source of comfort, I knew I was at the right place" - Lisa T.

$30,000,000
recovered in
the last 3 years

Contact Us Today

Warm, friendly, and on it!"
- Darlyn B.

I knew I was at the right place"
- Lisa T.

They have been a life saver."
- Jasmine H.

"This law firm is amazing

"A huge source of comfort

"Helpful and understanding

$30,000,000 recovered in the last three years

Personal Injury Attorney near me

"A huge source of comfort." - Lisa T.

Warm, friendly, and on it!"
- Darlyn B.

I knew I was at the right place"
- Lisa T.

They have been a life saver."
- Jasmine H.

"This law firm is amazing

"A huge source of comfort

"Helpful and understanding

$30,000,000 recovered in the last three years

Personal Injury Attorney near me

They have been a life saver." - Jasmine H.

Warm, friendly, and on it!"
- Darlyn B.

I knew I was at the right place"
- Lisa T.

They have been a life saver."
- Jasmine H.

"This law firm is amazing

"A huge source of comfort

"Helpful and understanding

$30,000,000 recovered in the last three years

Personal Injury Attorney near me

"This law firm is amazing" - Darlyn B.

Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Medford, Oregon


Workers’ compensation insurance covers almost all the workers in Oregon. The exceptions include federal government employees and those working in the maritime industry.

While you may not be eligible for state workers’ compensation benefits if you work in either of these worker groups, you would still be eligible for other benefits.

Your medical expenses as well as compensation for lost time from work and permanent disability due to a work related illness or disability are covered under the Oregon workers’ compensation insurance. In some situations, you might also be eligible for vocational assistance.

In most cases, death benefits (which include funeral expenses) are available to the deceased employee’s spouse and minor children in the event a work related injury or illness results in death. College attending children may also be eligible for death benefits.

How Does the Oregon Workers’ Comp System Operate?

Oregon workers’ comp claims are overseen by the Workers’ Compensation Division. Most employers are required by law to have workers’ compensation coverage. Usually, a workers’ comp policy is purchased from an insurance company to meet the requirements of coverage.

In some situations, an Oregon employer might also apply for certification from the state to self-insure. Nearly half of Oregon’s employers are insured by a not-for-profit, state-chartered insurance company called the State Accident Insurance Fund (SAIF).

Oregon follows a no-fault workers’ compensation system, which means that you do not have to bear the burden of proof to place your employer at fault to receive benefits. You are eligible for benefits as long as your injury was caused during the course of your job activities.

Workers are eligible for a variety of benefits, such as:

  • permanent disability benefits (for permanent impairments)
  • temporary disability benefits (for time off from work)
  • vocational assistance (which includes training for a new line of work)
  • reasonable and necessary medical care
  • death benefits

You cannot ordinarily sue your employer to claim any other compensation (like ‘pain and suffering’) apart from workers’ compensation, which makes it an exclusive remedy against your employer and the insurance company.

However, if your injury was caused due to someone else’s carelessness other than a co-worker, then you could have grounds for a ‘third party’ lawsuit.

Image
Image
 
Injured in an Accident? Get a Free Case Evaluation Today!

Injured in an Accident? Get a Free Case Evaluation Today!

Reporting a Workplace Injury in Oregon

An injury must be reported to the employer within 90 days of a work-related accident to qualify for workers’ compensation in Oregon. Occupational illnesses due to your line of work need to be reported within a year of discovery after making the connection.

You could potentially lose your rights to collect benefits if you exceed these deadlines. It is always a salient idea to report your work-related injuries as soon as possible for a faster claim processing.

Your notice about your work injury must be written and not provided verbally in Oregon. Form 801 – Report of Job Injury or Illness is completed by injured workers. This form can be obtained from the employer.

Any written and signed notice is acceptable if it describes the details of when, where and how the injury occurred.

Obtaining Medical Treatment for an Injured Worker

Your employer must inform you about the ways of getting necessary medical treatment once you notify them about your injury. You have the option to select your own doctor or pick one under the insurance company’s managed care organization (MCO), as per Oregon laws.

Whichever doctor you choose must complete Form 827 – Workers’ and Physician’s Report for Workers’ Compensation Claims at the first appointment and send it across to the insurance provider.

It is important that you provide your doctor with accurate information regarding the severity of your symptoms and the cause of injury. Insurance companies scrutinize the initial medical records while evaluating claims and any falsification or exaggeration may result in a denial of benefits.

Claim Process for Workers’ Compensation in Oregon

Your completed Form 801 should be sent to the insurance company by your employer within five days of receipt. The insurance company will determine your eligibility for benefits after a thorough investigation which may involve:

  • review of your medical records
  • scrutiny of your education, work experience, and wages
  • a medical examination to better assess your claims
  • setting you up for a functional capacity evaluation with work restrictions

Typically, an insurance company in Oregon must pay all necessary medical expenses within reason and temporary disability benefits during investigation.

It has 60 days to either approve or deny your claim. A Notice of Acceptance is issued which lists all your accepted medical conditions and injuries upon approval. You will receive a written notice of denial if your claim is denied. This shall include an explanation of your appeal rights.

Remember, you have a right to file claim and your employer cannot refuse you this right. Also, the law prohibits employers from discriminating against employees who file a claim.

Your employer with the insurer will have an established MCO from where you can select a doctor or you may choose your own doctor.

‘MCO’ includes those medical providers that have been certified by the Oregon Workers’ Compensation Division. The MCO is employed to provide medical care to workers suffering from work-related injuries after they have entered into a contract with the insurer.

Reasonable and necessary medical expenses related to your injury will be paid by your workers’ compensation insurance. The insurance company has 60 days, from the day you gave notice of your injury to your employer, to accept or deny your claim.

You are entitled to receive compensation for lost wages within 14 days of your employer receiving notice of your claim if you are hospitalized or lose more than three days in a row from work.

Your average weekly wages including commissions, regularly worked overtime, room and board, and other similar factors are taken into consideration while calculating the amount of compensation. (You may also be entitled to time loss payments or supplementary wage loss if you have a second job.)

Your wage reimbursement checks shall be paid every fortnight till your doctor finds you fit and allows you to return to work. Your time loss payments will cease if your claim is denied, or you return to regular work without doctor’s release, or the workers’ compensation department issues an order of your insurer closing your claim.

How to Appeal a Denied Workers’ Comp Claim in Oregon

You have the legal right to appeal if your claim is denied by filing a request with the Division for hearing. You risk losing all your rights under the Workers’ Compensation Act if you do not ask for a hearing within 60 days.

You should consider the fact that the insurance company will have a lawyer at this hearing. Therefore, you are likely to be at a serious disadvantage without a competent Oregon workers’ compensation attorney at your side because these laws can get complicated.

Contact a Reliable Oregon Workers’ Comp Lawyer

If you have been injured at your workplace in Oregon, you do not have to fight for your rightful workers’ comp benefits alone. Dwyer Williams Cherkoss has team of experienced and hard hitting attorneys who are committed to helping injured workers maximize their benefits. Call 1-800-285-8678 today to schedule your consultation.

Can Your Oregon Workers’ Compensation Claim Be Denied?

Oregon has strict workers’ compensation laws in place to protect nearly all workers, with the exception of casual workers, domestic workers, police, firefighters, and railway, airline, and shipping workers. The law covers all workplace injuries...

Maximum Medical Improvement in Oregon

The law in Oregon provides workers’ compensation rights to every employee. The workers’ compensation is applicable in cases where an employee gets injured at the workplace. It entails immediate medical benefits as well as wage...

Filing A Workers Compensation Claim In Oregon

Businesses in Oregon are more likely to have workers compensation insurance than those in many other states. But why is this? The answer to that question may be quite simple. The Oregon Department of Consumer...