Personal Injury Attorney Fees
Here’s a common scenario: you get into a car accident, maybe just a little fender-bender. The next day, you start to feel some pain in your neck. As the day goes on, the pain gets worse. You realize that you are going to need medical treatment.
This gets you thinking: can I afford an attorney? Well, we are going to answer that question for you by providing you with how the payment structures generally work in personal injury cases.
What is the first step to take after an accident?
First thing is first, if you have not filed a police report, be sure to do so immediately! In fact, according to the state of Oregon, you must file a police report within 72 hours after an accident occurs when any of he following thing have happened:
- Damage to any vehicle is over $2,500 (even if your vehicle was the only one in the crash);
- Any vehicle is towed from the scene;
- Injury or death resulted from this accident; or
- Damages to anyone’s property other than a vehicle involved in this accident is more than $2,500.
Once you have reported your accident, reach out to a personal injury attorney right away. Dwyer Williams Cherkoss Attorneys is one of the best personal injury law firms available in the state of Oregon. We will make sure that you have seen the proper medical specialist to diagnose your injury before planning out the next steps of the process. We will also take over all communication with your insurance company. This will ensure that you are properly protected and in position to receive the compensation that you deserve. Let’s face it, insurance companies are not going to look after your best interests.
Let’s talk about attorney fees
Everyone likes to talk about how expensive it is to hire an attorney. But when it comes to hiring a personal injury attorney, it’s not as expensive as you might think. Here’s how it works:
Personal injury attorneys will set up a contingent fee arrangement. This means that your lawyer will agree to accept a fixed percentage of the final settlement that you receive. This means your attorney will cover all expenses all the way up to that final settlement. In other words, if a personal injury attorney takes on your case, he or she sees the potential in recovering a certain amount of money that will benefit you and the work that is put in by the attorney. If there is no financial settlement at the end, nobody gets paid.
If you are in need of a personal injury attorney here in Oregon, reach out to us at Dwyer Williams Cherkoss Accident Injury Attorneys for a free case evaluation. Our team will ensure that your personal injury case is properly managed from start to finish. We want to make sure that you receive the justice and compensation that you deserve for your injury.