What You Need To Know If You Were Hit By A Car While Walking
Unfortunately, it’s more dangerous than ever to cross the busy streets of today’s fast-paced environments. In fact, from 2016 to 2017, pedestrian deaths due to vehicle collisions have increased more than 20 percent across the state of Oregon. Busy streets and distracted drivers are surely amongst the reasons why these types of accidents are occurring so often.
If you were struck by a vehicle here in the state of Oregon, you definitely need to speak with a personal injury attorney. Pedestrian-related accidents often lead to major injuries that require ongoing medical support. The damages from these types of accidents tend to be massive. For this reason, you need to fight for the compensation that you deserve.
Understanding Who’s At Fault
Before you can sue, you need to figure out if the driver was at fault for the accident that took place. If you can prove this fault, then you certainly have a case. Was the driver texting while driving? Do you have eyewitnesses that can corroborate your story? These are key questions that need to be answered in order to show and prove fault. An experienced attorney will help you through this process. The process is about showing that the driver breached his or her duty of care behind the wheel which then caused the incident that led to your injuries.
You Need A Thorough Investigation
As we mentioned above, there are many factors that come into a play when an accident occurs involving a pedestrian. Proving the fault of the driver is not usually as simple as it sounds. For example, maybe there were roadway hazards or poorly displayed signs that caused the driver to hit someone. Again, this is where a personal injury attorney will come into play. You need someone who knows what to look for in these types of investigations.
Understanding The Oregon Pedestrian Laws
There are many different laws that are in place to protect pedestrians who need to cross the roads of Oregon. For example, when turning at a signal, it’s your lane plus six feet. You must stop for the pedestrian, who must clear the lane into which the vehicle is turning and at least six feet of the next lane, before you can proceed. This is one of many laws that are designed to protect pedestrians. Unfortunately, if a vehicle does not slow down for some reason or another, pedestrians are often left severely injured or dead. Studies have shown that a pedestrian hit at 40 mph has an 85% chance of dying.
It’s important to utilize an Oregon Personal Injury Attorney who knows the laws and procedures in a pedestrian-related automobile accident. If you were the victim a pedestrian-related automobile accident here in the state or Oregon, contact us today at Dwyer Williams Cherkoss Accident Injury Attorneys for a free case evaluation. You can also reach us directly at: 1-800-285-8678. Our team of highly skilled personal injury attorneys will work hard to ensure that you receive the compensation that you deserve!