trial procedure

Can Defendants Consult Any Doctors in Your Personal Injury Case?

We have made it to Friday again, and this week’s video will be our last in the series answering your questions about personal injury law. In today’s clip, Roy answers the question of whether or not the defendant can get examined by a doctor of their choosing in your Oregon personal injury case:

As Roy explains in this video, once you file your complaint in Oregon, the defendant can have you examined by a doctor of their choosing. Normally in this process you can provide your medical records to a doctor, who will review them prior to examining you. These doctors are not plaintiff-friendly. They are hired by the defendant and the reports that they will provide will say one of two things: either that you are not in fact injured and that a preexisting condition is to blame or that your injuries are minor.

If you have been injured in an accident in the state of Oregon, call an experienced personal injury attorney right away. Call us for a free consultation at 541-617-0555 or visit our website for more information: roydwyer.com

To view additional informative videos about personal injury law in the state of Oregon, visit Dwyer Williams Dretke PC’s You Tube channel.

Will You Have the Opportunity to Depose the Defendant?

Happy Friday! In this week’s video, Roy answers a common question posed by clients in Oregon personal injury cases: will they have the opportunity to depose the defendant?

As Roy explains in this video, yes you do have the opportunity to depose defendants in your Oregon personal injury case. You can ask the defendant anything about his or her personal life – such as place of birth, marital status, criminal record, and history of drug use – but your personal injury attorney will primarily ask about how the accident happened. If he or she can establish in the deposition that there is no issue regarding fault, then you have a very good chance of getting the case settled without having to go to trail. For this reason, the defendant’s deposition is very, very important.

If you have been injured in an accident in the state of Oregon, call an experienced personal injury attorney right away. Call us for a free consultation at 541-617-0555 or visit our website for more information: roydwyer.com

To view additional informative videos about personal injury law in the state of Oregon, visit Dwyer Williams Dretke PC’s You Tube channel.

How Long and Costly are Oregon Personal Injury Trials?

Happy Friday! In this week’s video, Roy discusses the average length and cost of Oregon personal injury trials. Here is what you can expect:

An average Oregon personal injury trial will last between two and three days. More complicated trials last longer, sometimes exceeding five days. You can expect the plaintiff lawyer to make an opening statement, then the defense lawyer to do the same. There will be witnesses on either side, people will be cross-examined, then there will be closing arguments before the jury decides which side wins and which loses. The cost of a personal injury trial in Oregon varies depending upon the number of expert witnesses involved, but the minimum cost in our experience is $4,000 to $5,000. Most cases run $6,000 to $7,000, and more complicated cases cost more.

If you have been injured in an accident in the state of Oregon, call an experienced personal injury attorney right away. Call us for a free consultation at 541-617-0555 or visit our website for more information: roydwyer.com

To view additional informative videos about personal injury law in the state of Oregon, visit Dwyer Williams Dretke PC’s You Tube channel.

Can You Be Certain That You Will Win Your Case?

It is Friday again and time for another video from Roy. In this week’s video, Roy answers a common question from clients, which is whether or not he can guarantee that they will win their cases. Here is what he has to say on the subject:

We would love to be able to tell you that there is a guarantee that you will win your Oregon personal injury claim, but in reality we cannot. Your case is tried in front of 12 citizens, some of whom do not believe in the justice system and do not believe that injured people should be compensated. Even if you win on liability, the jurors may keep your damage reward low. Unfortunately, we have seen cases where very small money damages are recovered. We have also seen cases where no offers are made and large money damages are awarded. If you are willing to roll the dice, the justice system could work for you.

If you have been injured in an accident in the state of Oregon, call an experienced personal injury attorney right away. Call us for a free consultation at 541-617-0555 or visit our website for more information: roydwyer.com

To view additional informative videos about personal injury law in the state of Oregon, visit Dwyer Williams Dretke PC’s You Tube channel.

Will You Have To Provide Your Medical History to the Defense?

We have made it to Friday again, which means that it is time for this week’s video clip from our founder and senior partner Roy Dwyer. In this week’s video, Roy discusses whether or not you will have to provide your medical history to the defense attorney in your Oregon personal injury claim. Here is his quick response:

As Roy explains in this video, once you file your Oregon personal injury complaint, the defendant’s lawyer will surely ask for all of your medical records. The defense will want all of your medical records because it is looking for some reason not to compensate you, such as a preexisting condition or previous injury. The defense is going to spend a lot of time on your medical records and will try to use them against you in the case.

If you have been injured in an accident in the state of Oregon, call an experienced personal injury attorney right away. Call us for a free consultation at 541-617-0555 or visit our website for more information: roydwyer.com

To view additional informative videos about personal injury law in the state of Oregon, visit Dwyer Williams Dretke PC’s You Tube channel.